University of North Carolina Tomorrow Commission

For more information contact Joni Worthington at (919) 962-4629 or

March 16, 2007


University of North Carolina Tomorrow Commission to Help Shape Future Service to the State

CHAPEL HILL – Last month the UNC Board of Governors launched University of North Carolina Tomorrow, an 18-month initiative to determine how the 16-campus University can best meet the needs of the state and its people over the next 20 years.  Today Board of Governors Chairman Jim Phillips of Greensboro announced the creation of the University of North Carolina Tomorrow Commission, a blue-ribbon group that will help guide that ambitious effort.  The Commission, which includes business, education, government, and nonprofit leaders from across the state, is charged with learning what the people of North Carolina need from their University and making related recommendations to the Board of Governors.  

In coming months, Commission members and staff will travel the state, visiting UNC campuses and meeting with regional leaders in different sectors and industries to discuss evolving challenges facing North Carolina, and then will advise the Board of Governors as it develops potential responses UNC might make to those challenges and devises a long-term plan that will position UNC to remain proactive, and responsive.

“The make-up of this Commission reflects our commitment to reach out across all of North Carolina for input and guidance,” said Phillips.  “For the next 18 months, this group will be the eyes and ears responsible for capturing the state’s most critical needs and then recommending to the Board of Governors appropriate solutions that are consistent with the University’s mission of teaching, research, and public service.”

Members appointed to the University of North Carolina Tomorrow Commission follow.  In addition, representatives of the NC State Board of Education, the NC State Board of Community Colleges, and the NC Association of Independent Colleges and Universities will participate ex officio.

  • Jim W. Phillips, Jr., attorney; Chair, UNC Board of Governors; Greensboro.  Mr. Phillips will also serve as chairman of the Commission.
  • John M. Blackburn:  President and General Manager, Linville Resorts; Vice-Chairman, ASU Board of Trustees; Linville.
  • Peaches Gunter Blank*:  businesswoman; former Chair, NCSU Board of Trustees; former Deputy Governor of Tennessee; Nashville, TN.
  • Edward Broadwell, Jr.*:  banking executive; member, N.C. Rural Development Council executive committee; former chairman, N.C. Bankers Association; Asheville.
  • Bert Collins:  director, NC Mutual Life Insurance Co; former chairman, NCCU Board of Trustees, past president, Durham Chamber of Commerce; Durham.
  • Amanda M. Devore:  federal tax consultant, Ernst and Young; former president, UNC Association of Student Governments; Raleigh.
  • Dudley E. Flood*:  retired educator; former associate State Superintendent of Public Instruction; former executive director, N.C. Association of School Administrators; Raleigh.
  • Hannah D. Gage*:  businesswoman; former chair, UNC-Wilmington Board of Trustees; former member, N.C. Association of Broadcasters; Wilmington.
  • Anita R. Brown-Graham:  Director, Institute for Emerging Issues, NC State University; former faculty member, UNC-Chapel Hill School of Government; Raleigh.
  • Peter D. Hans*:  government relations strategic advisor; former vice-chair, NC Board of Community Colleges; Raleigh.
  • James E. Holshouser, Jr.*:  former governor of North Carolina; former member, NC House of Representatives; attorney; Southern Pines.
  • Brenda L. Killingsworth:  Chair, UNC Faculty Assembly; Associate Professor, College of Business, East Carolina University; Greenville.
  • Phillip J. Kirk, Jr.:  Vice President for External Relations, Catawba College; former President and CEO, NCCBI; former Chairman, State Board of Education; Salisbury
  • Maria Montaño:  Vice President and General Manager, WUVC Univision 40, the nation’s leading Spanish-language media company; Board of Directors, El Pueblo, Inc.; Raleigh.
  • Marshall Pitts:  attorney; former mayor of Fayetteville; Board of Directors, ElectriCities; Fayetteville.
  • Thomas W. Ross:  Executive Director, Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation; former Superior Court Judge and Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts; Winston-Salem.
  • Estelle “Bunny” Sanders*:  mayor of Roper; member, Gateway Bank Advisory Board; former director, ECSU Small Business and Technology Development Center; Roper.
  • Ruth G. Shaw:  Executive Advisor to Chairman, President, & CEO, Duke Energy; former President, Central Piedmont Community College; UNC-Charlotte Board of Trustees; Charlotte.
  • Lawrence Seigler:  retired pharmaceutical executive; chairman, Pitt County Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees; co-Chairman, NC Virtual High School Commission; Greenville.
  • J. Craig Souza*:  association executive; former chairman, ECU Board of Trustees; Board of Directors, NC Institute of Medicine; Raleigh.
  • Priscilla P. Taylor*:  retired foundation executive; former member, NC A&T Board of Trustees; member, UNC-Chapel Hill Graduate School and Honors Program Advisory Councils; Chapel Hill.
  • Roland  Vaughan:  mayor of Edenton; former member, NC Rural Prosperity Task Force; Edenton.
  • James Woodward:  Chancellor Emeritus, University of North Carolina at Charlotte; Charlotte.
  • David W. Young*:  business owner; Buncombe County Commissioner; member, Blue Ridge Film Commission Advisory Board; former chair, Buncombe County Economic Development Board; Asheville.

* member, UNC Board of Governors


NOTE TO EDITORS:  For more information about the University of North Carolina Tomorrow initiative, contact executive director Norma Mills at (919) 843-1903 or  You may also contact deputy director Tony Caravano at (919) 962-4231 or


Friday, March 16, 2007

Accessibility options

Adjust the interface to make it easier to use for different conditions.
This renders the document in high contrast mode.
This renders the document as white on black
This can help those with trouble processing rapid screen movements.
This loads a font easier to read for people with dyslexia.