## Faculty Governance Committee meeting on November 30, 2012

Present: Ralph Scott, ECU, Gabriel Lugo, UNCW, Mary Jean Ronan Herzog, WCU, Stella Anderson (by phone), APPSTATE, UNCA, Patti Sink, UNCG, Andy Koch, ASU, Floyd James, NC A&T, Linda Wilson-Jones, FSU, Jan Boxill, UNC-CH, Hans Kellaer, NCSU, Himanshu Gopalan, WSSU, Susan Cannata, UNCP, Brian Sims, NCA&T, and David A. Green, NCCU, Chair

Jan Boxill invited her colleagues from UNC-Chapel Hill to present at the committee meeting to discuss their Ombuds office, Grievance Committee and Hearing Committee.

Wayne Blair, University Ombuds and Laurie Mesibov, University Ombuds gave a thorough and impressive presentation on their Ombuds office and the objective of the office. They discussed the four principles of the office: confidentiality, informality, impartiality and independence. There was an extensive question and answer period following the presentation.

Jill Moore, Chair of UNC-Ch Grievance Committee, gave a presentation about her committee and its objective. She discussed the separate role of the grievance committee from the hearing committee. Richard Whisnant, former Chair of the Hearings Committee gave a presentation about the objective of the hearings committee. The grievance committee handles employment matters and institutional relationships and the hearing committee handles discharge, failure to promote and suspension.

Andy Koch provided some brief details regarding the suspension of Professor Jammie Price and the process the campus followed in suspended the professor.

The committee decided to draft a resolution to be presented at the January 18, 2013 faculty assembly meeting regarding due process, which should include suspensions, academic freedom, and shared governance; possible separated. The committee decided that David Green would circulate a draft of a resolution for committee input and then have the final proposed resolution about available for the members of the faculty assembly two weeks prior to the January 18, 2013 meeting.

Submitted: by David A. Green, Chair, Governance Committee